10K for 10 Years

Saturday 13th November saw the first ever running of the Jimmy Irvine Achilles Heel Bella 10K.  The race celebrates 10 years of both Bellahouston Road Runners and Achilles Heel.  Almost 400 runners took to the start in truly autumnal conditions in Bellahouston Park.  Rain, sunshine and windy conditions all played a part in the day’s performances.

The men’s race was won by Ronhill Cambuslang Harrier Robert Gilroy in a time of 31:37.  In second place was David Millar of Irvine AC with a time of 32:04, followed by Jozsef Farkas in third place with a time of 32:47.  The male vet 40 category was won by Kerry-Liam Wilson, also from Ronhill Cambuslang Harriers, in a time of 35:26.  Brian Craig from Irvine AC scooped the prize in the  male vet 50 category (38:49) with Kenny McVey from VP City of Glasgow taking the male vet 60 prize (43:00).  Host club Bellahouston Road Runners took the men’s team prize (Matt Williamson, Ciaran Dougherty and Russell Whittington).

The ladies race was won by Lindsay Morrison from Central AC with an impressive time of 37:36.  Lindsay was followed home by Michelle Sandison from Springburn Harriers finishing in a time of 38:22.  Third place was Bellahouston Road Runner Deborah Gray (38:56), who took the 1st female vet 35 prize, allowing Jill Smylie from Giffnock North to take the last of the open prizes with a time of 39:32.  Jacqui Thomson from VP City of Glasgow won the female vet 45 age group with a time of 39:41.  Denise Lindsay won the female vet 55 category (49:52).  The ladies team prize also went to the host club, Bellahouston Road Runners (Deborah Gray, Jane Simpson and Claire Wharton).

The race also formed part of a series with the Bella 5K held in August.  David Millar from Irvine AC and Claire Wharton from Bellahouston Road Runners took the series prizes with the lowest accumulated times from both races.

Thank you to all the runners for taking part.

Provisional Results are here.